Home Not logged in.      Log In        My Downloads

Talent Music Publishers

Cascade Mountain Suite

This original piece is based on the memories of the composer’s visit to the Cascade mountain range as a young Sailor on liberty from his ship moored in Tacoma, Washington.  The piece is written in three movements:  1. The Skagit’s,  2. Lake Helen, and  3. Bridge of the Gods.  There are many elements in this piece that will challenge the Brass band.  There are syncopated sections, multiple meter changes and exposed section soli.  There is some atonality in the third movement.

Category:  String Orchestra,
Composer:  Dr. Jorge E. Garcia

Price:  $50.00

Performance Notes: 

Each movement of this suite can be performed by itself or any combination of movements can be done.  The third movement would be appropriate for contest performance since it is challenging.  Two popular hymns, "Be Thou My Vision" and "All Creatures of my God and King" are melded together with the main theme in the third movement.  The end of the first movement requires the orchestra to do a free glissando increasing and decreasing velocity to mimic the wind blowing through the mountains.  The second movement should be flowing but note the specific articulations throughout the piece.  The 5/8 portion of the third movement is scored 3+2 and there are fascinating solo's an unison sections in this complex meter.

Click to view sample Score Performance Level:  Grades 3 - 2 - 4

Performance Time:  3:56 - 3:21 - 5:40 minutes


(idev-DigiShop 5.0 :: modified by Dave's Web Dynamics)